DTW Awards Residency Grants to Artists and Studios
November 29, 2001

Dance Theater Workshop has always determinedly supported contemporary dance, but this particular project is great because it supports artists and the studios that support those artists. DTW’s Creative Residency Grants are awarded to both dancers and their studios as part of the Outer/Space Program, which was established in 2000 as a response to the shortage of affordable rehearsal and performance space in Manhattan.

This year, ten artists were selected to receive grants: Daniel Charon; Elena Demyanenko; Nancy Garcia; Sam Kim; Annie Kloppenberg; Juliana F. May; Stochastic Ensemble/ Margaret Paek; Peter Scisciolo; Mary Sullivan (DTW Van Lier Fellow); and Tara Aisha Willis (DTW Van Lier Fellow). These choreographers get to take advantage of 100 hours of free rehearsal space, a six-month stipend, and professional development workshops.

Five Outer/Space Creative Residency Grants were awarded to studios in NYC’s outer boroughs: Brooklyn Arts Exchange, Cave Organization, BRAZIL, Green Space, and Topaz Arts. These studios received funding to offer 1000 hours of rehearsal space to the greater dance community for a subsidized rate of $10 per hour or less.

Congratulations to all the recipients. What an amazing opportunity!

Subscribe to our newsletters

Sign up for any or all of these newsletters

You have Successfully Subscribed!