We've Got the Inside Scoop on This Year's 17 Capezio A.C.E. Awards Finalists
July 12, 2017

Hundreds of entries. 17 finalists. Only 1 winner. Who will be named this year’s Capezio A.C.E. Awards champion?

On Saturday, August 5, (right smack in the middle of our Dance Teacher Summit) Summit) one choreographer will receive $15,000 to go towards a future show of his or her choreography and join the ranks of Martha Nichols, Travis Wall and Al Blackstone. (First and second runner-ups receive $5,000 and $3,000, respectively, to go towards their shows.) Many of these choreographers were finalists last year, and several have been on our minds lately. Click each name to watch the choreography that got them to finalist status—and weigh in on the comments section if you’ve got dirt of your own on these fabulously talented dancemakers.

1. Rudy Abreu

He’s already choreographed a music video for Derek Hough—what could possibly top that?

2. Courtney Barclay

3. MaryAnn Chavez

4. Phil Colgan

5. Mitchel Federan

Federan’s Instagram is on point with incredible class combos. Watch and see:

6. Jared Jenkins

7. Will Johnston/Marissa Osato

When Johnston isn’t choreographing, he’s breaking our hearts with his smooth moves—like in this Tyce Diorio duet:

8. Renee Kester

Remember that video that went viral of a couple dancing on a train platform? Kestler is one half of that duet, so we know she has the dancing chops to go all the way:

9. Erica Marr

10. Maggie Miller

11. Lukas McFarlane

12. Yusuf Nasir

13. Sabrina Phillip

14. Terry Tansey Schulke

15. Akira Uchida

16. Andrea Ward

17. Nick Young

If Young sounds familiar, that’s because his tap numbers for “So You Think You Can Dance” have been a big hit. He definitely tells a story with every number he choreographs, like this one:

Subscribe to our newsletters

Sign up for any or all of these newsletters

You have Successfully Subscribed!