Spotlight On: Dance Teacher Awards
February 1, 2013

Seen & Heard At the Dance Teacher Summit

Past award-winners (from top): Kee-Juan Han (2008), Bonnie Schuetz (2009), Liz Schmidt (2012), Kim Stroud (2012) and Jamee Scheifer (2011)


Each year, the Dance Teacher Awards honors four outstanding educators for their hard work, dedication and contributions to the field. Past recipients have ranged from world-dance instructors to ballet masters, hip-hop mavens and everything in between. We need your help to find this year’s best in the profession. Do you know a teacher who deserves to be recognized as a leader and role model? Nominate him or her for a 2013 Dance Teacher Award! Your nomination should include the following:

1. Award category: Private Studio/Conservatory, Higher Educaton or K–12

2. School or studio name and location, nominee’s position at the institution

3. Your relationship to the nominee

4. In 200 words of less, tell us why this teacher deserves an award. What are their leadership qualities, for instance, and list some notable accomplishments.

*Feel free to include any helpful photos or videos, as well!

2013 Dance Teacher Awards

attn: Andrea Marks


333 Seventh Ave., 11th Floor

New York, NY 10001


E-mail: [email protected]

Fax: 646-674-0103

Photos from top: Stephen Baranovics; Jerry Baker; Mary Jo Graves;Rich Davis; Jamee Schleifer; all courtesy of the teachers

Subscribe to our newsletters

Sign up for any or all of these newsletters

You have Successfully Subscribed!