The Martha Hill Awards Honors Dance Educators
November 20, 2017

For the past 17 years, the Martha Hill Fund has been honoring the commitment to dance education and international performance embodied by its namesake. Previous award winners have included Carla Maxwell, former artistic director of Limón Dance Company, former Ailey II dancer Frederick Earl Mosley and Mark DeGarmo of Mark DeGarmo Dance.

This year’s awards gala takes place tonight at the Manhattan Penthouse in New York City. Check out who’s being honored.

Martha Hill Awards for Lifetime Achievement will go to dance historian and archivist Norton Owen, director of preservation at Jacob’s Pillow since 1990, and New York dance educator Alice Teirstein, who founded the dance program at Fieldston School and is director of Young Dancemakers Company.

Alice Teirstein. Photo courtesy of Martha Hill Foundation

Norton Owen. Photo courtesy of Martha Hill Foundation

Former Dance Theatre of Harlem principal and resident choreographer Robert Garland and founding director of Dancers Responding to AIDS Denise Roberts Hurlin will be honored with the 2017 Mid-Career Award.

Robert Garland. Photo courtesy of Martha Hill Foundation

Denise Roberts Hurlin. Photo courtesy of Martha Hill Foundation

Subscribe to our newsletters

Sign up for any or all of these newsletters

You have Successfully Subscribed!